Day One

Class starts Tuesday, but I got to town a few days earlier to explore. And I’m already thinking about e-books.

Before I left NYC, I checked out a few novels from NYPL and BPL to download to my Nook.  I love how convenient it is, but it sure doesn’t compare to browsing a real bookshelf or even searching the regular OPAC.  It’s hard to find what I’m looking for, in the format that works for me. Some CSS styling and a few more search options could go a long way.

Meanwhile, today I’m walking around one of my favorite streets, Charing Cross Road, visiting all the lovely old bookstores. I couldn’t resist picking up a paperback from the basement of one shop, 142 Strand, all about the publisher John Chapman in Victorian England.

On this street filled with bookstore after bookstore, I’m realized how entwined the publishing industry is with London. I just learned the first scientific journal was published here in 1665. So this is probably a good place to be learning about what happens next.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

